Homemade Peanutbutter

1231286_10151866442720295_1894838685_nMy love for peanut butter started way back when I was in primary school. I remember waking up in the morning and having my dad sit us kids down at the bench asking us to put our orders in for breakfast. Whilst my sister stayed classy with her butter and promite on toast, sure enough I would always ask for peanut butter and jam. Mmmmmmmmmmmmmm

After discovering the stuff was potentially unhealthy – with all of the added sugars and especially at the amounts I was consuming, I gradually got over it, I grew up and moved onto cereals such as cheerios and my beloved weet-bix : ) Haha

But fear no more! This is case of having your cake and eating it too! There is a healthier way to enjoy peanut butter – and all it involves is you making it yourself! …..and possibly a food processor.

My recent fascination with peanut butter started when I decided one day to cure my sweet tooth with possibly a (very) old bit of peanut butter that I found in the pantry. Using up the last serving, I was incredibly satisfied but I still wanted more. I have always seen people making their own nut-butters on instagram and blogs, and I don’t know what kind of sign or magical moment it was, but when I looked up in the cupboard to find that Mum had bought a bag of Kookaburra Raw Peanuts, I knew the time had come to make my own.

Re-discover your childhood, and make this healthy version of peanutbutter :) All the same taste, none of the nasties! And it’s high in PROTEIN!

- INGREDIENTS -

1 x 375 g pkt of Kookaburra Raw Peanuts (Mum used some for dinner in her wombok salad, so I ended up using about 200g, or 1.5 cups) * Available at Coles and Woolworths

1.5 tablespoons peanut oil or vegetable oil

salt, to taste

- METHOD -

1. Preheat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius. Pour the peanuts on a baking tray lined with baking paper.

2. Once the oven has reached temperature, place the tray in the oven for several minutes, until the peanuts are browning. This won’t take long (about 5-7 minutes). Remember to keep an eye on them or they will burn!

3. Remove from the oven and put in a bowl to cool for a few minutes.

4. Remove the skins. To remove the skins, you can sit and do it one by one by simply rubbing the peanuts until the red skin falls off. Alternatively, place the nuts in the middle of a tea-towel laid out flat. Fold the tea-towel over and bunch up the sides to almost make a large bon-bon! Roll it back and forth so that all the nuts are rubbing against each other and removing their skins. You may need to do a quick once over with your hands to ensure majority of the skins are removed.

Note: If you have roasted them long enough without burning them, the skins should come off quite easily.

5. Place the skinned peanuts in a food processor (or blender) and pulse until crumbly.

6. Add 1.5 tablespoons of peanut oil (or vegetable oil) and pulse again until smooth. If more oil is needed, add only in very small amounts.

1234326_10151867617360295_1015429685_n

7. Add a sprinkle of salt, this really improves the taste. Blend until desired texture is reached. You can make it super smooth or leave it crunchy!

8. Place the peanutbutter in a jar or air-tight container and keep for up to a few weeks! *Mine fit perfectly in a Bonne Maman jar!

Serving suggestion: I had mine for breakfast the next day on multigrain sourdough with sliced banana! Yummmmmmm!

With such great success, next I want to try and make my own almond butter, and then maybe hazelnut butter! : ) Stay tuned!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Peanutbutter

    • Haha I have an abundance of jars in my pantry :) Going to fill them with chutneys, jams and more nut butters I think! I have to be honest, I had never heard of Teddy Bear Toast, so I google it. The biggest smile came across my face and I giggled! Definitely making it! Thank you :)

  1. Pingback: Healthy breakfast muffins – oatmeal and pear | incrednibbles

Leave a Reply

