Cherry Ripe Balls

64298_10151769673485295_428548667_n-1When I hear the words ‘Glace Cherries’, images of christmas puddings, old fashioned fruit cakes or copies of the 80’s Women’s Weekly magazines float into my mind. I don’t know what it is about them, but I just haven’t found a reason to bake with them. Somewhere along the lines, I’m sure I had a bad experience with them. Perhaps it was the fruity pudding on Christmas Day when I was 10 years old – I mistook the word pudding and was hoping for a self saucing chocolate one.. but all I got was dried fruits and brandy.

I came across some of these cherries in my pantry leftover from when my twin decided to have a bake day of her own – without me!!!! She made delicious Amaretti and I’m planning on getting her to do a feature post on here because they were great!

971025_10151769819575295_1919588604_n

Knowing the left over cherries wouldn’t get used for anything besides baking, and with an afternoon to spare… I began to brainstorm my possibilities!
The first thing that came into mind was to make my own cherry ripe bars! However after a quick research, I found I needed many more ingredients from the supermarket, and so I bookmarked the idea for another bake day.
I needed to go with something requiring fewer ingredients and so with no recipe, I made my very own Cherry Ripe Balls from scratch.
With such great responses from the family, I thought I had better share it!
– INGREDIENTS –

563877_10151769672590295_1104296381_n

1 packet Arnott’s Milk Coffee Biscuits (250g)

1 cup shredded/desiccated coconut, plus extra for rolling

2 tablespoons cocoa powder, sifted

200g glace cherries

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

1 cup milk or dark chocolate buttons, chopped

1 can condensed milk (395g)

– METHOD –

1. Place milk coffee biscuits in a food processor and crush until fine crumbs form. Alternatively crush the biscuits well by hand – it doesn’t matter down fine they are, bigger biscuit pieces just give the balls more texture and crunch.

26331_10151769671895295_1414203342_n2. Place biscuits in a medium bowl and add in the coconut and cocoa powder. Mix together to evenly distribute the dry ingredients.

3. In the food processor, mince the glace cherries. Again, if you don’t have access to a food processor, chopping them very finely will be okay too!

4. Tip the dry ingredients into the food processor with the minced cherries. Add in the vanilla essence and pulse until well mixed.

999183_10151769672190295_73992594_n

5. Tip the mixture back into the bowl and stir through the chocolate bits.
6. Pour 1 can (395g) of condensed milk directly into the bowl and evenly over the top. Combineby folding the ingredients together until everything is well incorporated.
7. Allow mixture to chill in the fridge for approximately 10 minutes. I use this time to do a quick clean up and set up for the rolling process!

8. Remove mixture from fridge. In a smaller bowl, pour a good amount of coconut to cover each ball. I would start with 1 – 1.5 cups, but you can always add more as you go!

9. Roll tablespoons of the cherry ripe mixture – wet hands help this process! So keep a bowl of water next to you for dipping your hands in!

10. Drop the balls into the coconut and roll them around until they are evenly covered. Place them on baking trays or plates.

1002574_10151769672680295_2100538531_n

11. Continue steps 9 and 10 until all mixture is used up! Place them back in the fridge until ready for serving!

Makes approximately 40 Cherry Ripe Balls

Note: If you aren’t making these for a certain occasion and plan on keeping them for more than one day, they are best kept in the fridge! Just put them in a Tupperware container at the back of the fridge… behind the carrots.. and the apples… and all the other healthy stuff – these things are seriously addictive!!

Leave a Reply

