Getting creative with homemade Kingston biscuits

1157498_10151818145650295_1644624634_nIn the past, I have attempted to recreate several of the Arnott’s biscuit range. My best attempt were probably my Monte Carlos, however I couldn’t get the middle to be that sticky and chewy (almost meringue like) consistency!!
Others I wish to try are Tim Tams and Mint Slice, whilst my biggest challenge is recreating the entire family assorted pack with teddy bears, chocolate ripples, milk arrowroots, and orange creams etc…

There is a sense of accomplishment that comes over you when you can recreate a product from scratch. Feeling adventurous and creative this weekend, I knew that when Dad asked me to bake him something for the biscuit jar at work, a simple chocolate chip cookie would not satisfy my baking appetite.
Whilst at the supermarket to stock up on supplies, I took a stroll through the biscuit isle to get some inspiration. And then it hit me… Homemade Kingstons!

The look on my Dad’s face was the best part when I returned home and told him my plans. These are delicious and look fantastic, but let me tell you now, they are not for the impatient! These babies take a long time, not to assemble, but to roll into teaspoon sized balls and flatten before baking! Make sure you make time to make these and perhaps put some music on to pass the time. Alternatively, make them with friends or young kids to help speed up the process!

– INGREDIENTS –
BISCUIT:
65g Rolled oats
160g Butter, softened
160g White or Caster sugar
55g Golden Syrup
150g Plain flour, sifted
1 tsp Vanilla essence
75g Desiccated coconut

FILLING:
Milk Chocolate Ganache
*As annoying as it is, I actually don’t know the recipe for my filling! I made it up! This recipe makes quite a lot, so you can use the left over ganache to make truffles or icing for cupcakes!
Essentially, I combined the following:

300g Milk chocolate bits
1/2 cup of cream
1 tbs of Cocoa powder, sifted

– METHOD –
1. Preheat oven to 160 degrees Celsius and line 3 trays with baking paper.
2. Place the oats in a food processor and process until a fine powder.
3. In a bowl, cream the butter and sugar and pale and creamy. Gradually add the golden syrup, plain flour, vanilla, coconut and ground oats. Mix until well combined.
4. Using a teaspoon, roll balls of dough and place on the lined trays. Lightly flatten each ball into a disc, ensuring all are theΒ exact same size and thickness. Continue with the remaining dough. *This takes a long time if you a precise like me!

1173634_10151818146595295_1958383105_n5. Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes, or until cookies are evenly golden brown. Allow to cool on trays for 5 minutes before moving them onto a cooling rack.

1175229_10151818146755295_761932347_n

6. To make the filling, combine the chocolate and cream in a microwave proof bowl. Put in the microwave for intervals of 30-45 seconds, stirring in between, until chocolate is almost completely melted. You don’t want to burn the cream here, and by simply stirring well, the remaining chocolate will melt. Add the cocoa powder and stir to combine. Place in the fridge until the biscuits have fully cooled.

7. Remove the ganache from the fridge. Place a small dollop of ganache on the bottom of a biscuit and just like making a sandwich, place another biscuit on top. Ensure the the bottoms of the biscuits are facing in. Repeat with remaining cookies.
Note: If your cookies vary in size, look for the two most similar when you sandwich them together. This recipe make about 40 Kingstons, which in turn means you should have 80 single biscuits before you combine them.

*Sorry for the poor standard of photos, I didn’t know I was blogging this one until I realised how great they worked!

If you have another biscuit that you would like to see re-created, send me a comment or an email and I would be more than happy to attempt it!

3 thoughts on “Getting creative with homemade Kingston biscuits

Leave a Reply

