Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMAG0865

As you know, my current job is to bake for a cafe in Kew called Percy’s Aeroplane – come check it out! Today however, I worked on floor as a waitress, as we were short for staff. I love being on the floor just as much as baking! Interacting with customers and actually seeing my baked goods being sold and complimented on is a wonderful feeling.

After my shift, I decided I was going to go straight home and study for my upcoming exam, but instead (one again), I began to “procrastibake” – It’s becoming a serious problem of mine.

You see, we had a lot of chocolate left over from a cake job I had completed earlier this week… and as it was already melted down and then set in a bowl.. just sitting in the fridge…I thought the best thing to do was make Dad some choc chip cookies. I mean, 2 weeks ago I made Mum the croquembouche she wanted!

So with a little modification to a Donna Hay recipe, I had the house smelling amazinnnnng in no time.

Turns out.. these cookies weren’t just for Dad. I actually ended up taking them to a dinner and drinks gathering, and after posting them on instagram, everyone was pleased I brought some along : )

IMAG0863

– INGREDIENTS – 

190g butter, softened

1/2 – 1 teaspoon vanilla essence

1 1/2 cup caster sugar

3 eggs

3 cups self-raising flour, sifted

1 1/2 cups desiccated coconut

220g chocolate, chopped roughly*

*I used more than 220g… because I had more in my fridge and it tastes better! Also I used a mixture of milk and dark chocolate

– METHOD – 

1. Preheat oven to 190 degrees Celsius and line 3-4 trays with baking paper.

2. Place butter, vanilla and sugar in the bowl of an electric mixer and beat until pale and creamy.

3. Beat in the eggs, 1 at a time.

4. Stir through the self-raising flour, coconut and chocolate.

5. Roll tablespoons of the cookie dough into balls and place them on the baking tray with enough room to spread. I usually stagger mine (see picture) . There is also no need to flatten them, they do it on their own :O : )

IMAG0860

6. Bake them for 10 – 12 minutes, rotating the trays half way to get an even browning colour. This recipe made about 52 cookies!

IMAG0862

2 thoughts on “Classic Chocolate Chip Cookies

Leave a Reply

